· 

Eleni Drake - Vanilla Sky

"My Music is a reflection of real events in my life. I try and be as open and honest as I can through my music because I really struggle to express how I feel with some people in my life. It just ironic how I can tell a microphone how I’m feeling, but not a real-life human made of flesh and blood. Strange right?"

 

"私の音楽は、実際に自分の身に起きた事柄を反映しています。音楽を通して、できるだけ誠実で正直でいようとしていて。なぜなら、自分の人生で出会った何人かに対して自分の気持ちを伝えることに、どうしても苦しんでいるからです。実際に生きているリアルな人間相手(に伝えること)は難しいのに、マイクになら自分の感情を伝えることができるというのは皮肉なものです。おかしいでしょう?"

 

- StreamingDeptでのインタビューより

 

参照元:

INTERVIEW WITH ELENI DRAKE ON HER NEW EP – VANILLA SKY

http://streamingdept.com/interviews/eleni-drake-vanilla-sky-ep/

 

Eleni Drake on her newly released EP ‘Vanilla Sky’, and finding creative inspiration in lockdown

https://www.hastemagazine.co.uk/eleni-drake-on-her-newly-released-ep-vanilla-sky-and-finding-creative-inspiration-in-lockdown/

01 King Street - キング・ストリート

Camomile in your palms,

But you ruin it with every chance 

Spit blood on the floor

And throw their bodies in the morgue 

手のひらのカミツレ

でも、あなたはどうしたってダメにする

床に血を吐いて

身体は安置場に投げ捨てる

 

Had our conversation 

Sat in the car park

Well I told you I’d stay here

So you’ve got someone to rely on

お互い言葉を交わして

駐車場に座り込んで

私がここに残るって言ったから

他に頼る人を見つけたんでしょう

 

and you see vanilla skies

burning holes into your eyes

hair still tucked inside your shirt

but you don’t mind

and i saw vanilla skies

but I’ve got other things in sight 

そうして、あなたはバニラ・スカイを見る

空洞を瞳に焼き付ける

髪はシャツを突っ込んだまま

あなたは気にしないけど

そうして、私はバニラ・スカイを見た

ただ、他のことが視界に入って

 

You send me bullets

But I send you flowers 

I’m all choked up 

and I can’t say the things I want 

cos

You send me bullets

But I send you flowers 

I'm all choked up 

and I can’t say all the things I want 

あなたは弾丸を送る

けど、私は花束を届けましょう

どうしたって言葉に詰まって

言いたいことが言えないのだ

なぜなら

あなたは弾丸を送る

けど、私は花束を届けましょう

どうしたって言葉に詰まって

言いたいことがまるで言えないのだ

 

You told me your brother overdosed

you wish that you spoke a little more

But let him rest easy now

And just focus on yourself

あなたの弟が薬の過剰摂取をしたと

もう少し会話をしていればと、あなたは願う

でも今は彼を休ませて

ただ自分のことに集中しなさい

 

Had our conversation

Sat in your garden

Well I told you I’d stay here

But I guess that’s my problem 

お互い言葉を交わして

庭先に座り込んで

私がここに残るって言ったから

でもまあそれは私の問題なのでしょう

 

And you see vanilla skies

Burning holes into your eyes

Hair still tucked inside your shirt

But you don’t mind

And i saw vanilla skies

But I’ve got other things in sight 

そうして、あなたはバニラ・スカイを見る

空洞を瞳に焼き付ける

髪はシャツを突っ込んだまま

あなたは気にしないけど

そうして、私はバニラ・スカイを見た

ただ、他のことが視界に入って

 

You send me bullets

But I send you flowers 

I’m all choked up 

and I can’t say the things I want 

You send me bullets

But I send you flowers 

I'm all choked up 

and I can’t say all the things I want

あなたは弾丸を送る

けど、私は花束を届けましょう

どうしたって言葉に詰まって

言いたいことが言えないのだ

なぜなら

あなたは弾丸を送る

けど、私は花束を届けましょう

どうしたって言葉に詰まって

言いたいことがまるで言えないのだ

 

No i can’t say

the things i want.

No i can’t say, 

that things i want.

Oh you send me bullets,

i can’t say the things i want.

やはり言えなくて

言いたいこと

やはり言えなくて

言いたいことを

弾丸を送るあなた

言いたいことが、どうしても

 

(インタビュアーにKing Streetが一番好きな曲だと伝えられて)

"私もこの曲が今回のEPで一番好きです。この曲は今年(2020年)の一月に書かれたもので(ああ、みんなして2020年には、どうしようもない希望を抱いていましたね)、実はとても悲しいことをテーマに書かれたものなのです。誰かが亡くなることであったり、私の昔のパートナーが再び連絡をしてきて、やっぱり人は一向に変わらないものなのだという認識に至ることだったり。自分をマシな気持ちにさせるために、人に頼ることはできないということです”

02 Melbourne Blues - メルボルン・ブルース

I struggled with myself

And the thoughts I couldn't shake

Didn't want to be attached

To the thoughts inside my brain

But I stared down the face of adversity

And I can change it all, you see

Look to the sun, I'm with you

Yeah, I wish you were here too

自分自身に苦しんで

振り切れない思いがあって

自分の頭の中の考えに

囚われたくないのだ

逆境を正面から見下ろして

ほら、全部自分で変えられるのだと

太陽を見て、そばにいるよと

あなたも一緒にいてくれればと、私も思うのだ

 

And we don't know

How good this world can be

Living in our own head, honey

Can get dark, don't you agree?

And we don't know

What it means to be happy

Keep on searching for the wrong things

And lose what we should keep

なにより知らないのだ

この世界がどれほど良くなるかなど

自分たちの空想に生きているのだ、なんて

陰るときもあると、そうでしょう?

なにより知らないのだ

幸せになるとはどういうことかなど

どうにもズレたものを探し続けて

持ち続けるべきものを失って

 

But look to the sun, I'm with you

Yeah, it feels like Melbourne blues

It feels like Melbourne blues

太陽を見て、そばにいるよと

やはり、メルボルン・ブルースみたいだ

メルボルン・ブルースみたいだ

 

And I appreciate you for all that you are

And just like gold, you don't rust

But I stared down the face of adversity

And I can change it all, you see

Look to the sun, I'm with you

Yeah, I wish you were here too

そして、あなたの全てに感謝を

金のように錆びないあなたに

逆境を正面から見下ろして

ほら、全部自分で変えられるのだと

太陽を見て、そばにいるよと

あなたも一緒にいてくれればと、私も思うのだ

 

And we don't know

How good this world can be

Living in our own head, honey

Can get dark, don't you agree?

And we don't know

What it means to be happy

Keep on searching for the wrong things

And lose what we should keep

なにより知らないのだ

この世界がどれほど良くなるかなど

自分たちの空想に生きているのだ、なんて

陰るときもあると、そうでしょう?

なにより知らないのだ

幸せになるとはどういうことかなど

どうにもズレたものを探し続けて

持ち続けるべきものを失って

 

But look to the sun, I'm with you

Yeah, it feels like Melbourne blues

でも太陽を見て、そばにいるよと

やはり、メルボルン・ブルースみたいだ

 

And if I could tell you something

And I'd tell the truth

My life was over, honey

The day I met you

なにかあなたに伝えられるとしたら

真実を伝えましょう

ねえ、私の人生は終わってしまった

あなたに出会った、その日に

 

We don't know

How good this world can be

Living in our own head, honey

Can get dark, don't you agree?

And we don't know

What it means to be happy

Keep on searching for the wrong things

And lose what we should keep

なにより知らないのだ

この世界がどれほど良くなるかなど

自分たちの空想に生きているのだ、なんて

陰るときもあると、そうでしょう?

なにより知らないのだ

幸せになるとはどういうことかなど

どうにもズレたものを探し続けて

持ち続けるべきものを失って

 

But look to the sun, I'm with you

Yeah, it feels like Melbourne blues

It feels like Melbourne blues

It feels like Melbourne blues

でも太陽を見て、そばにいるよと

やはり、メルボルン・ブルースみたいだ

メルボルン・ブルースみたいだ

メルボルン・ブルースみたいだ

 

(自分の音楽の遍歴を聞かれ、祖父の紹介でジャズをたくさん聴いていたこと、10代のころはロックやポップ・パンクなどを聴いていたことを述べたのち)

"そうして18歳ごろ、再びジャズに熱中するようになりました。なので2年前に音楽を始めた頃はそういった種類の音楽をやっていたのですが、どうやったってそういう音楽をやるには(自分自身の)かっこよさが足りないと気づいたのです...この世界の人たちは、それはエッジーでかっこよく、でも私は違う。なので結局、やめだ、自分が好きだった音楽に戻ろう、自分が心地よい曲をやろう、そこが私のいる場所なのだ、と思うようになりました。このEPは、その’場所’にもっと根差したものになるでしょう”

03 Kilos - キロ

※キログラムやキロメートルのキロを指すと思われる。

 タイトルとしては、数が多いことや途方もないことを意味する...はず。

 もしくはスラングでドラッグを意味するKiloの可能性もあり。ただ内容的には数というか量の話なのでは...と思う次第です。

always inviting me in

karma will come around and intervene

drag me through the embers of your skin,

your words will find their way back in.

いつでも私を招き入れようとする

カルマがやってきて、介入する

私をあなたの肌の残り火の中に引きずり込んで

あなたの言葉を振り切れずに

 

i would follow you into the red,

the beads of rosary wont save the place i rest,

you can heal my inside flux,

with a simple touch from your hands.

真っ赤の中へ、あなたを追って

ガラス玉のロザリオは、私の安息の地を救ってはくれず

あなたの手がただ私に触れるだけで

私を内側から癒す

 

kilos on my shoulders

wouldn’t you be heaven, if you were sober 

肩にのしかかる重さ

シラフじゃないなら、あなたは救いにならないから

 

i’ll be sure to tell your next lover

i’ll be sure to warn them about ya x2

あなたの次の恋人にしかと伝えましょう

しっかりと警告をしましょう

 

always inviting me in

your hands will come around and intervene 

blue like the waves that i drown in,

blind like the love that i fall in.

いつでも私を招き入れようとする

あなたの両手がやってきて、介入する

私が溺れる波のように青く

私が落ちる恋のように盲目

 

and i would follow you into those crowds,

but the chaos in your mind got way too loud.

hear me and i’ll find your sanctuary,

lye with me and perish all that worry.

私はこの人波の中、あなたを追うでしょう

ただ、あなたの心の混沌が騒々しくなりすぎて

耳を傾けてくれたら、あなたの逃げ込める場所を探しましょう

’あく’でお互い身を清めて、心配事は全て消えて行くから

 

kilos on my shoulders

wouldn’t you be heaven, if you were sober

肩にのしかかる重さ

シラフじゃないなら、あなたは救いにならないから

 

i’ll be sure to tell your next lover

i’ll be sure to warn them about ya x2

あなたの次の恋人にしかと伝えましょう

しっかりと警告をしましょう

 

”Kilosはどうしようもないほど馬鹿なクソ野郎についての歌”

04 Vanilla Sky - ヴァニラ・スカイ

Official lyrics not available.

公式歌詞の記載なし。

 

”Vanilla Skyという曲は、私が19歳の時に書いた曲で、ヴォイスメモに残ったまま手つかずだった曲です。一度ライブで演奏したときに、私のマネージャーが「あれはなんだ?」って。それで私は「(演奏についての感想だと勘違いして)そうなの、あれを歌うのって正直大変なの」と言ったら、「あの曲は是非レコーディングしないと!」と。私にとって一番感傷的な意味を持つ曲かもしれないですね。ただ単に完成まで長い時間がかかったという意味で”

05 Kinda Hopeless - なんだかどうして

 

Isn't it funny how your world just disappears

when you lose the ones you love

and now you're six feet down below me

i wish i played you one more song

愛する人たちを失ってしまったとき

世界が単に消えてしまうのがどうにもおかしくて

今となっては、6フィート下にあなたがいて

もう一曲、あなたに奏でて上げられたらと

 

Summer came quicker than the waves that hit my feet

oh can someone save me from me?

summer came quicker than when Jimmy died in his sleep

oh can someone save me from me?

私の足を打つ波より早く夏が来て

誰か私を私から救ってくれない?

ジミーが夢で死ぬより早く夏が来て

誰か私を私から救ってくれない?

 

I don't care

too much about anything

won't you stay 

and keep me some company

yours to keep

cos i'm feeling kinda lonely

close to me

but it's looking kinda hopeless

yeah

well it's looking kinda hopeless 

気にしない

何事に関しても、大げさには

もう少しここにいたら?

私に付き合って

あなたのもの

だって、なんだか寂しく感じるから

近づいて

でも、なんだかどうして希望が見えない

それにしても、なんだかどうして希望が見えない

 

Disappointed but i guess I'm not surprised

let's swim a little deeper in our lies

so lets pray and forgive ourselves again

well i guess that's our compromise 

落胆はしたけど、まあ驚きはしない

この嘘の中を、もう少しだけ深く泳ごう

さあ、もう一度祈って許し合おう

きっと、そういう妥協なのだ

 

Hate is such a burden don't you think

oh can someone save him from this?

close the curtains, rest your eyes and go to sleep

oh can someone save him from this? 

憎しみとはどうしようもない重荷だと思わない?

誰か彼を”それ”から救ってくれない?

カーテンを閉めて、目を休めて眠りにつく

誰か彼を”それ”から救ってくれない?

 

I don't care

too much about anything

won't you stay 

and keep me some company

yours to keep

cos i'm feeling kinda lonely

close to me

but it's looking kinda hopeless

yeah

well it's looking kinda hopeless 

気にしない

何事に関しても、大げさには

もう少しここにいたら?

私に付き合って

あなたのもの

だって、なんだか寂しく感じるから

近づいて

でも、なんだかどうして希望が見えない

それにしても、なんだかどうして希望が見えない

 

If i was watching what was going on in the news, 

i'd guess i'd wanna fucking leave too

もし私が最近のニュースでも見ていたら

私だって出て生きたくなるに決まっているでしょう

 

I don't care

too much about anything

won't you stay 

and keep me some company

yours to keep

cos i'm feeling kinda lonely

close to me

but it's looking kinda hopeless

yeah

well it's looking kinda hopeless

気にしない

何事に関しても、大げさには

もう少しここにいたら?

私に付き合って

あなたのもの

だって、なんだか寂しく感じるから

近づいて

でも、なんだかどうして希望が見えない

それにしても、なんだかどうして希望が見えない

 

(パンデミックとそれに続くロックダウンで、インスピレーションを探すのがある意味で難しくなったかと聞かれ)

”(自宅に籠ることに)セラピー的な癒しを感じました。パンデミック禍では、私を動揺させる人も、怒らせる人も、悲しませる人もいません。もちろん一体なにを書いたらいいのかと思うこともありますけど、いつだって何か書くことはあるものです”

06 Peaches - ピーチ

Official lyrics not available.

公式歌詞の記載なし。

彼女のYouTubeに上がっていた動画の説明欄を見る限り、レーベルを離れて自分で活動を続けて行くようで、今までのように専業ミュージシャンではなくなってしまうと書かれていた。

いつまでも、気ままに活動を続けてくれたらと、非常に個人的にだけれど、思う。